Sam’s Zucchini Benedict

01889106f3bab27d563b7d00ef94692cde81bdf49a

This is Sam’s favorite breakfast of all time (so far), and since I get a recipe named after me, I supposed my primary tester should get one too. This is a pretty hearty breakfast for having no bread – lots of egg and butter, fresh organic zucchini, and a potentially fantastic bacon vessel. Yes, bacon. Some day when we are eating meat again (which sounds like will not be that far off) I am going to put so much bacon on this. Responsibly-farmed, lived-a-happy-life bacon of course 🙂

BACON UPDATE: Can confirm – this is excellent with bacon. As if there was any doubt that it would be.

I have a serious addiction to eggs Benedict, and I am extremely picky when it comes to Hollandaise. A great Hollandaise seems to be a diamond in the rough, and I could count for you on one hand the restaurants that have actually impressed me. Every time I see eggs Benedict on a breakfast menu I want to order it, and every time Sam says no, reminding me that I am disappointed every time. Then I get mad at him, because I’m probably hangry by this point, and all I really want is some delish eggs Benedict. Then someone else orders it, I try a bite, and…damn. He’s right again. I secretly breathe a sigh of relief that I did not order it, then maaaaybe I’ll admit it to Sam a couple days later.  Anywho, I made a pretty legit version of Hollandaise a couple years ago with a double boiler, and it is time-intensive and difficult to get just the right thing. This discouraged me from using it at home. Then recently I discovered that – and stay with me here – making Hollandaise with a blender is a thing. Yes, it sounds sketchy! Yes, I was SUPER skeptical. And yes, it is super delicious. It takes about three minutes to make and even keeps well in the fridge.

Next roadblock: We don’t eat bread at home! English muffins out the window. How do you have a delish Benedict with no bread? Zucchini to the rescue! This recipe for zucchini fritters is very savory and takes advantage of the leftover egg whites from making the Hollandaise sauce. Fun fact: Zucchini and yellow squash are some of the most highly modified GMO products on the market, so going organic is especially important to us.

Finally, a word about time management. This three to four part recipe (depending on the bacon!) is time and labor instensive. I would highly recommend an assistant (promise them extra bacon). If you don’t have an assistant, then follow this order: Make the Hollandaise. Leave sitting in blender. Mix up the zucchini cakes. Warm up griddle, and throw on your first batch. While those are cooking, warm up egg poaching water. Poach eggs. Just before plating, whip up the Hollandaise one more time with the blender and you’re good to go!

Hollandaise Ingredients

  • 3 egg yolks (save those whites for the zucchini fritters!)
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1-3 dashes hot sauce (Franks & Cholula work great)
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

Hollandaise Directions

  1. In a blender, add the egg yolks, mustard, lemon juice, and hot sauce,  then cover and blend well.
  2. Turn the blender down to medium and remove the small center part of the cover.
  3. While the blender is running, slowly pour in the melted butter. The sauce will thicken immediately.
  4. Next verrry carefully pour the sau- oh wait – you’re already done. YUP, it’s that easy.

Store leftover sauce in a sealed container in the fridge. Don’t ever directly re-heat it in the microwave or in a saucepan as it will start to cook and harden. Instead, either sandwich between two hot food items to melt it down, or place the container it is in into a bowl of hot water to heat it ambiently.

Zucchini Fritter Ingredients

  • 2-3 organic zucchini
  • 2 green onions, thinly slicedZucchini Cakes
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • Ground pepper to taste
  • Sea salt to taste
  • 1/2 Tbsp butter

Zucchini Fritter Directions

  1. Cut off ends of zucchini, wash, and grate. I use the grating attachment on my food processor, gets the job done in about ten seconds! Get rid of excess moisture by putting in a cheesecloth and squeezing. Alternatively, lay grated zucchini out on paper towel or a kitchen towel, and using another towel over the top squeeze out as much moisture as you can.
  2. Put the zucchini in a large mixing bowl, add the rest of the ingredients, and stir together.
  3. Heat butter over medium heat in a cast iron skillet, or other pan/griddle. If you are using bacon, cook the bacon first and use the grease instead of butter!
  4. Using a large fork or slotted spoon, scoop the zucchini mixture on to the skillet in 3-4 inch pancakes. Allow to cook for 4-5 minutes, flip, and cook for another 4-5 minutes. You want both sides to be nice and brown and crispy!

And now, for the scary part…

Click here for egg poaching directions. It’s not really scary. I followed this the first time I attempted a poached egg, and it turned out perfectly! There are shortcuts like using muffin tins in an oven, but you can’t get exactly the right texture and done-ness without doing it the right way 😉 If you’ve never poached an egg, this will make you feel very fancy! 4 minutes on the dot for a runny yolk, or flip it over in the water and leave in for another thirty seconds if you prefer it a little more done.

017943ccc72ff7d44289d30428d3099fcad3822a00

My first poached egg! This was just after the water stopped swirling, right about when it started looking extra weird.

When everything is ready and you’ve perfectly poached your eggs (I believe in you!) put two zucchini cakes on a plate, top each with a poached egg, spoon some Hollandaise over everything, and top with a little fresh ground pepper. If you’re adding bacon, I imagine that I’d stick a couple crispy slices right between the zucchini and the egg 🙂 BACON UPDATE: I did. It was amazing. If you have enough leftovers for the next day, it works really well to make a Benedict sandwich with the zucchini cakes to warm up your Hollandaise. Bon appétit!

017e33b0ad5aafc2f8e1c5c2df52c8865ae948a17f

Mmm, benny sandwich!

Recipe Credit: chellebelle @ AllRecipes.com for the Hollandaise, Deb @ smittenkitchen.com for the egg poaching directions.

Leave a Reply

